Resources: The Martyrdom of St. John the Baptist

If you’re looking for information on the Memorial of the Martyrdom of St. John the Baptist…

I’ve got you covered. I didn’t have time for full-blown research for a learn something post. I apologize. This week has just been hectic for me at work and at home.

I have great news about the young adult group at my new parish… but I want to wait to share that news.

Here’s a bunch of great sources for information on St. John the Baptist.

First, the Catechism of the Catholic Church:

523: St. John the Baptist is the Lord’s immediate precursor or forerunner, sent to prepare his way. “Prophet of the Most High”, John surpasses all the prophets, of whom he is the last. He inaugurates the Gospel, already from his mother’s womb welcomes the coming of Christ, and rejoices in being “the friend of the bridegroom”, whom he points out as “the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world”. Going before Jesus “in the spirit and power of Elijah”, John bears witness to Christ in his preaching, by his Baptism of conversion, and through his martyrdom.

Prepare the way for the Lord…

I don’t have a strong devotion to St. John the Baptist, though it’s easy to see why one could develop such a devotion. (there’s an idea if you don’t have one)

The seat of my archdiocese is at St. John the Evangelist (another name for St. John the Baptist).

Here’s a New Advent post about St. John the Baptist.

Something on the unreliability of Catholic tradition… at least on specific dates: (from New Advent)

“The date of John the Baptist’s death, 29 August, assigned in the liturgical calendars can hardly be relied upon, because it is scarcely based upon trustworthy documents. His burial-place has been fixed by an old tradition at Sebaste (Samaria). But if there be any truth in Josephus’s assertion, that John was put to death at Machaerus, it is hard to understand why he was buried so far from the Herodian fortress. Still, it is quite possible that, at a later date unknown to us, his sacred remains were carried to Sebaste.”

Of course, the Bible doesn’t have any dates in it or anything. You know, they kind of missed that in writing things down.

I’m really not a stickler on dates. As long as it comes around about the same time every year… once a year, I’m good.

Here’s an article on Catholic Online.

Check out Catholic Bloggers, Jen @ Conversion Diary and Catholic Cuisine for more about this great memorial. No reason not to celebrate every time we can! I’m sure as the day turns into tomorrow (the memorial) there will be more posted online.

God bless.

I hope my week settles down soon. I’ll have more this Friday and this weekend.

Welcome new followers again! To stay up to date on the blog, just click the link over to the right. You can also follow along using blog readers like Feedly.

3 comments

    • learningmass

      Thanks, Amy! I’m glad you found it useful. I would have liked to write more, but there is a ton out there already about St. John the Baptist, we might as well share what’s good out there.

  1. Pingback: Peter: our first Holy Father | Learning Mass

Leave a comment