28 by 28 update: pray outside an abortion clinic

March 9.

I know this review post is coming in late, but I think I needed time to think about how it went.

40 Days for Life

First of all, when I made my 28 by 28 list, I checked in with 40 Days for Life. They do awesome work with the prayer vigils, and I thought it was a good place to start.
Originally, I intended to go to Latin Mass (also on my list) before showing up for the prayer vigil, but I realized I wouldn’t make it there in time.
So I went to the Saturday vigil Mass and then showed up at 9 on Sunday morning for the prayers.
I was expecting people to be there for the hour before mine. Nope. No one was there.
And no one showed up afterwards to take over, either.
So I was there, by myself, outside this clinic. Which was closed, of course. I guess business is too slow on a Sunday morning, even for them.
On the window was a sign “40 Days of Prayer for Choice.”
Wow.
That just makes me angry and sad at the same time. The sign was sun-bleached and… I don’t even know what it was.
Wait, yes I do. It was stupid.
Read this post at Patheos about the whole idea.
I should also add that it was freezing. We’ve had this abnormal cold winter here in Wisconsin, and it was early. I think it was cloudy, so I didn’t even get a lot of sunshine.
I thought that was just though. I was in a sad, sad place.
Affiliated Medical Services in Milwaukee.
So I prayed. First a Rosary. Then a Divine Mercy Chaplet. Then another Chaplet. Then a Rosary, and I dedicated a single ‘Hail Mary’ to each of the women in my life. That was actually really beautiful. I should do that more often (think of people when I pray!).
Only a few people walked by me, and no one said anything to me. It was clear, I think, what I was doing, but who knows?
Some people don’t know… which is so hard to me to think about because it’s a huge part of my life. I think about “the cause” probably every day.
But some people aren’t “political” or into current events. I find that more and more often now. It’s sad. I mean, you’re not into current events? You don’t watch, read or listen to any sort of news source?
Yikes.

I would like to say that I walked away from the clinic after a hour a more thoughtful and prayerful person.

I don’t think that really happened. I was happy to get into my car and turn on the heat. Happy to get away from what is not the greatest neighborhood in Milwaukee.

Even though I know prayers aren’t ever wasted… I feel like I didn’t help anyone. Yet, I guess I’ll never really know if my prayers helped anyone.
I feel like my donations to Pro Life Wisconsin are better served… or if there were a group of us there, during business hours of the clinic…
I don’t know.
All I know is that I did it. It’s checked off my list. And I’m glad I did it. But next time, I’ll do it differently.
That’s for the next list.
During the past month, already, I’ve had this secondary bucket list building… by the time my birthday rolls around, I won’t have to think very hard about my 29 by 29 list.
So far, off the top of my head, I know I need to put these on the list:
1. go skiing
2. pray with a group outside an abortion clinic
3. attend a whole Brewers-Cubs series at Miller Park (that’s only 3 games, shouldn’t be a big deal, right?)
I think I have more written down somewhere…. you know how those list goes.
All the best.
Hope you’re working on your goals and dreams, too.
Leave a Reply

