Skirts and being a girl

On Friday, I wore a dress and told one of my coworkers that I was thinking about doing it “all the time.”

He laughed and asked if it was a slap in the face of feminism. Yes! He’s the good Catholic that I have as my in-office role model.
Saturday, I wore pants. Sunday… I wore pants.

But I wore a skirt to Mass. If that counts.

I decided Sunday night that I was going to do a “test week” of wearing a skirt all week. I checked the weather. 23 degrees on Wednesday, supposedly.

OK. I have some fleece-lined tights. I can do this. The rest of the week is supposed to be really nice.

Well, it’s half way through Monday, and I love wearing a skirt! I feel like a girl!

This is probably not startling and amazing for some of you. Well, it is for me.

I posted about it on my Tumblr account (jaderuns), and seriously, the feedback was great! Skirts, skirts, skirts.
So I am going to be scoping sale racks and thrift stores to find more.
I don’t know what specifically started me on this test week, and I don’t know if I’ll continue it forever. I know that I have been seriously interested in MODESTY since the breakup in December.
I feel like I want to … start over with a chaste life. Modesty is a key to that.
Wearing a skirt makes me feel more modest, for sure. But I also feel feminine.
I have a weird body shape (doesn’t every woman), so pants never really fit me right, you know what I mean? They were baggy in the wrong places, tight in the wrong places… I just never felt really good in a pair of pants.
I feel that way in a skirt, and I’ve always felt that way in a skirt, so I don’t know why I haven’t made this leap before.
I’ll let you know how the rest of the week goes, and if it continues.
I had a… kind of… sort of… date on Sunday night, and I wore jeans because I wanted it to be super casual (which may have made it not a date at all). One of my friends suggested the jeans, so I went with it.
Skirts just still look dressy to me. I’m sure once I start wearing them in more casual situations, I’ll get used to it.
Any thoughts on wearing skirts all the time?
3 comments

  1. Alma Mater

    I think you are so right. I made the switch to skirts over the past year, and while it has at times been a struggle, I really do believe that it is honouring to God.

  2. 9jaime

    I need to go clothes shopping really badly, and I would love to find some nice skirts. I just can’t seem to find clothes that fit right anymore. My husband has mentioned how he would love to see me dress up more, so maybe I will take the plunge?

  3. cg

    I take the bus, and am on disability. And I live in 28 to -25 degree weather 7 months out of the year. I like denim because it’s warmer. When I had a job, and more income, I wore dresses, at Mass.

Leave a Reply

