A “fresh” take on Lent

I see lists all over the place about what to give up, how to give up more, unique things to give up, funny things to give up… Those are great.

And they’ve helped me in the past.
This year, though, I really thought about what I wanted to give up as my penitence.
My first, thought, oddly was mayo. I really like mayo. Because I’m on a low-carb (meaning no-sugar) diet, I add mayo to add fat and flavor to a lot of what I eat.
I decided to not give that up because I want to stay on this diet. It works for me.
My next thought was about the heat in my car. I was actually really set on this idea.
Except… what does that do to bring me closer to God? Am I really ADDICTED to the heat in my car?
Both answers: no.
So…
I finally decided to give up…
 
THE RADIO IN MY CAR.
 
What a small simple little thing to give up, right?
False. I love the radio on. Constantly. Always. I love (hate) flipping through the stations and finding a song or a news station I like. Flipping again.
I realize now, that my ability to change the channel, and having so many choices, makes me impatient. Not just while I’m driving, though that is a big part of it, but during my whole day (life).
I’m short with people because I can’t make them do what I want immediately by pressing a button.
 
I hope this Lenten “fast” from the radio helps me build patience.
 
I’m adding… if I can make it to Church on time… the Rosary with the ladies before daily Mass whenever I go. So I’ll have to be ready a little earlier, be there a little earlier.
I used to do it, years ago. That will surely be a blessing.
 
And alms giving… I think this is always the hardest part of me.
I have so little to give, honestly. Journalists, on average, don’t make a lot of money.
But I’m going to increase what I give a little bit every week at Mass, and I’m going to try to make some meals for people.
 
I can do things if not give money.
 
Are these really “fresh” ideas? Probably not. But it’s a different take for me.
Last year, I gave up complaining, and it became a pretty big joke in the office. I don’t want that to happen this year.
 
Fasting today, for the first time in a long time… I’m eating dinner today, that’s it. Probably some tea and coffee.
I know fasting can be a great spiritual blessing, but boy… I am hungry. 🙂
 
If you’re looking for more on Lent, I suggest the USCCB.
 
God bless.
Leave a Reply

