What do you think about during Mass?

I went to Mass yesterday morning (Wednesday) and here are a few of the million things that passed through my head:

  • I wonder where that guy I saw yesterday is sitting. (Shift body angle to look around)
  • Who is sitting behind me? He was an accent or something going on.
  • I hope the priest kneels when he gets the already consecrated Body of Christ… oh good. he did. I hate when they don’t do that.
  • Where do all these old women buy their coats?
  • I should have brought my Rosary.
  • Yes, I’m definitely going grocery shopping this afternoon. And I need a new can opener.
  • And lighters. And some candles. I love candles.
  • Did I turn the heat down before I left my apartment?
  • I wonder how long my cat is going to be clingy at the new place.
  • Don’t think about him (as I think about my ex-boyfriend).
  • It’s like I want to date an old man or something (because I want someone who is financially responsible and courteous).
  • My grandpa is a great man.
  • I forgot to send my grandma a birthday card! Yikes! Today is her birthday!
  • I really want to bake some bread (part of my 28 in 28 list) today… but I’m on that diet.
  • What are these clip things for on the back of the pews?
I don’t even think that’s it.
I know I was thinking about one of my coworkers during the homily.
Do you do that? Get so far off topic that you don’t even know how you got there?
Any suggestions for re-focusing myself during Mass? I know I have to re-orientate myself to daily Mass and let go of distractions, and that it’s a great exercise for me spiritually.
But… I want to focus now!
I picked up another prayer card with the Memorare on it. Oh, Mother Mary, pray for me.
God bless!
2 comments

  1. rosesnearrunningwaters

    I think that we all can find ourselves distracted from time to time. I find that when I my brain starts running off in a million directions I try to just say a quick prayer something like “Lord I love you I am sorry for my distraction today. Please help me focus on your love!”

    I think the little clippys are for purses maybe? Or sometimes I use it to clip my envelope so I don’t have to dig through my purse for it when it comes time for the collection.

    • learningmass

      I have never seen anyone use the clips for anything… it’s funny that they’re so prevalent but not used.

      I like your idea of saying a little centering prayer, and it can be used all day!
      God bless. Thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

