28 by 28

I usually start these posts by apologizing for not posting in so long. It’s been over a month.

Not today.
I went to Mass and Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament in Adoration this morning.
It was beautiful and peaceful and I can’t believe I’ve been away from daily Mass for so long. What was I thinking?
I started day dreaming, or un-focusing, or thinking about things other than God, and I just quietly centered myself again. I had to keep pulling myself back.
But what a great exercise in self-control. I hope to go every morning I am able.
It’s at 7 a.m., but I live in town now and can thus make it to work at 8 a.m., which is nice to get an hour of work done before everyone else comes to the office.
Why I live in town now is complicated, and I want to get into it in another future post.
But for now, I just want to share my birthday news.
I turned 27 on Feb. 8. This isn’t news. My birthday happens every year.
The greatest gift I ever got for my birthday was life. Second best gift was my name.
This year, I wanted to create a 28 before I turn 28 list.
I want to do 28 crazy, fun, interesting, awesome, adventurous and outrageous things before I turn 28.
Also, some things that I’ve just wanted to always do and haven’t. So I’m going to do them. They probably aren’t all that zany and crazy at all!
Here is the list. They aren’t in any order other than the order I thought them up in.
  1. See the eagles fly
  2. Go zip lining
  3. Go stand up paddle boarding
  4. 10K run
  5. Washington, D.C./March for Life
  6. Carmelite retreat
  7. Catholic Youth Expeditions retreat
  8. 10 Latin Masses
  9. See an opera
  10. See a play
  11. Go camping
  12. Go fishing
  13. Attend a leadership seminar or conference
  14. Attend a Catholic women’s event
  15. Take a dance class
  16. Learn how to bake artisan breads
  17. Ride in a hot air balloon
  18. Go ice boating
  19. Sew a dress, sew a skirt that I actually wear
  20. Refurbish the chair and foot stool
  21. Finish the knit circle rug (completely!)
  22. Knit mittens
  23. Pray outside an abortion clinic
  24. Fast for 24 hours
  25. Visit the Apostle Islands
  26. Visit Washington Island
  27. Learn some basic auto maintenance – replace my own oil!
  28. Volunteer at a food pantry or soup kitchen
Here’s to the list (I raise my glass), to goals, to challenges, to a new year, a fresh start, a celebration of life.
I already have some of these things planned, so I can’t wait to tell you about them!
I reserve the right to add things to this list that I think are worthy.
I also reserve the right to not feel guilty if I don’t finish everything on the list! I reserve the right to forgive myself.
Jesus forgives me. I think I can forgive myself.
God bless!
In the fear of the Lord one has strong confidence.
Proverbs 14:26
Leave a Reply

