“So also endures the office”

From the Catechism of the Catholic Church:

862     “Just as the office which the Lord confided to Peter alone, as first of the apostles, destined to be transmitted to his successors, is a permanent one, so also endures the office, which the apostles received, of shepherding the Church, a charge destined to be exercised without interruption by the sacred order of bishops.” Hence the Church teaches that “the bishops have by divine institution taken the place of the apostles as pastors of the Church, in such wise that whoever listens to them is listening to Christ and whoever despises them despises Christ and him who sent Christ.”

 

Do you ever hear those people… those of other faiths say that the Apostolic age ended with the Apostles?

Well, 862 is just a smidge of Church teaching about it.

Also endures the office, which the apostles received, of shepherding the Church, a charge destined to be exercised WITHOUT INTERRUPTION by the sacred order of bishops.

And so, the Church with the help of the Holy Spirit will find the next Bishop to lead our Church. We’ll continue that tradition without interruption. How beautifully put.

 

Lent.

It’s come to that point, at work, that I realize some people think I take my faith lightly by the way I talk about it. I wish that wasn’t the case.

Often to make it accessible, I joke about it, lightly. I shouldn’t. My faith is serious, and strong, though not as strong as I’d like it to be.

My coworkers seem to think Lent is this… joke.

I have a CRS Rice Bowl at my desk. There’s some money in it. They’ve seen me put money into it. So, why the jokes? Why do they laugh when I ask the fellow Catholics what  they’ve given up for Lent? Nothing, both of them, nothing.

Interesting.

I pray often that God uses me as an example for others, for my boyfriend, for my family, for my friends. I need to add coworkers to that list as well.

God Bless.

Leave a Reply

