Rice bowls and the pope

CRS rice bowls

I don’t know if they do these everywhere, but I see them everywhere I go to Mass during Lent.
You know, those paper/cardboard… piggy banks, I guess you could call them. I picked up two this morning: one to keep at work, one to keep at home.

Because I’m sticking with my abstention from complaining. So far, I have contributed 5¢. It’s a start.

Snowy Road

I took this photo this weekend, the day after my birthday (I like to talk about my birthday).

The next day (Sunday), it rained like crazy and all the snowy woods are gone.

I’m so glad I stopped. It was one of those times where I didn’t really want to stop my car, didn’t really want to take the extra two minutes to get out of my car, adjust my lens, all of that. But look at what came out of it.

I find that I skip those little things a lot because I’m in a hurry, I don’t have time, it’s too far (not really, just out of the way). These little excuses make me miss taking photographs of beautiful things.

That road, that photo, so beautiful. Worth the 45 seconds. I swear.

Frozen over

This was that same day, out on the frozen lake. That is some man ice fishing. Or trying to.

Most liquids freeze from the  bottom up because the colder material is denser. Not so with water and ice. The frozen water is less dense and is at the top. If this didn’t happen that way, fish would not survive.

God planned that. How amazing.

I was going to say something about the pope.

But I really have nothing to add.

I love Pope Benedict  XVI, and I trust the College of Cardinals will choose another great leader for our faith.

I hope he’s in good health and that his faith isn’t wavering. God bless that man.

Lent so far

I know it’s only day 1, but I got up early and did a little personal prep time with the Lord.

I wrote down which Rosaries I’ll do on which days, which days I’ll go to a daily Mass, my Stations of the Cross schedule.

I am a compulsive scheduler like that, but now I know what I need to do and I’ll make time for it.

I went to Mass this morning. Beautiful.

The students were there, too.

Picked up the rice bowls and did a Rosary with the group. So far, so good. And it’ll stay that way, I hope.

How are your plans coming? What did you abstain from?

How’s the fast today?

God bless. Happy Lent.

Leave a Reply

