Remember, Remember the 22 of January

Yesterday was a “Day of Prayer for the Legal Protection of the Unborn Children.”

The General Instruction of the Roman Missal states, “In all the dioceses of the United States of America, January 22 shall be observed as a particular day of penance for violations to the dignity of the human person committed through acts of abortion and of prayer for the full restoration of the legal guarantee of the right to life.” (No. 373)

On Monday, I was thinking about what I could do to observe this day.
I’ve always been strongly pro-life. I support Pro Life Wisconsin and have been to vigils and prayer services.
I own a Rosary for the Unborn.
But I don’t think I’ve ever fasted on the day.

The day, of course, is the anniversary of the Roe v. Wade decision.

Is fasting enough? Is prayer enough?
I think the best answer to that is yes, with faith.
We can move mountains with God.
We can change the world. We can stop abortion.
With fasting, yes. Prayer, yes. Faith, yes.

By teaching our kids, our friends, our family the truth. Have faith that these things work. They do.
God is on our side in this.

FASTING
Why am I always hungrier, earlier when I fast?
It wasn’t even lunch time yet, and I was feeling hunger pains.
I ate only a small serving of veggies for breakfast (not that unusual for me, though I normally add that to eggs with some sausage or bacon).
I skipped lunch, though I did have orange lime slices in my water all day. Not that that adds much at all.
Everyone’s food smelled so good. And it normally doesn’t (I have high food standards).
Someone’s egg rolls, oh wow. A sub sandwich, please.
But no. I stuck with it.
But it’s not just enough to be hungry. I offered up my pain, my discomfort.
I’m alive. I can sacrifice and pray for change.
Those killed since the Roe decision in 1973 aren’t alive.
It’s not just the children that are hurt (killed), either. It’s the mothers and the fathers that lose a child.
Imagine.
I can’t imagine ever being that lost, hurt that much, so worried about my future that I could do it.
I can’t imagine the fear these women feel. I wouldn’t wish that fear, that feeling, that emotion on anyone.
It’s important to know there’s forgiveness. God forgives. Christ died for our sins.
Turn to him. He loves you.
I don’t even know what I would say to someone. Sidewalk counselors are so brave, so caring, so wonderful in giving their time, their love, their talent.
If you have that ability, don’t be afraid. Go.
I should go. I want this to be my goal this year.
I ate dinner, of course.
I hope they have delicious food in Heaven for  all the children lost. It’s so much fun to eat. I think about this a lot when I cook. Thank God for our sense of taste and smell.
I said a Rosary THIS morning 😦
I “couldn’t” (read: didn’t make it a priority) yesterday to do so.
But I was in Mass this morning and saying the Rosary with all my old lady friends. Wonderful to join with them for that devotion.
God bless.
2 comments

  1. Pingback: Pope Sixtus V’s strong words against abortion | Learning Mass
  2. Pingback: Pope Sixtus V’s strONG WORds AGAinst aboRTIon | High-Impact

Leave a Reply

