Sunday reflections

Brothers and sisters:
Every priest stands daily at his ministry,
offering frequently those same sacrifices
that can never take away sins.
But this one offered one sacrifice for sins,
and took his seat forever at the right hand of God;
now he waits until his enemies are made his footstool.
For by one offering
he has made perfect forever those who are being consecrated.

Where there is forgiveness of these,
there is no longer offering for sin.

From USCCB

Our sacrifices don’t take away our sins. Christ’s sacrifice does.

If you wanted to really find a basic tenet of Christianity, there it is.

“For by one offering, he has made perfect forever those who are being consecrated.”

Lord, have mercy on us.

 

In other news…

I have bee house sitting/babysitting for the past week.

It’s been… not the worst experience in the world, but I want to be home. I want my own bed and my own cats and my own refrigerator.

It’s funny what we miss when we’re away from home.

So I was at St. Paul’s Catholic Church today (and last Sunday). And most of what they do, I’m OK with.

But then!!! (explanation points are like jazz hands, I’ve heard)

The entire congregation stands as the Eucharist is taken back to the tabernacle after communion. We stand, and we watch. I cross myself.

It’s beautiful.

It’s very pre-Vatican II/Latin Mass style. And I love it.

There’s a reverence there that you don’t have when you’re sitting.

It’s the type of thing you’d do if the president was leaving the room, and yet, Christ is so much more than our leader. He’s our savior.

Oh, Lord… have mercy on our lack of respect for your role.

 

God Bless. Happy Sunday!

One comment

Leave a Reply

