Holiday cheer

I am that person…

in the office that is getting super excited about Thanksgiving and Christmas coming up!

I mean, come on! Why not be happy about it? It’s a glorious time of year.

We celebrate the day Christ came to us through Mary. And praise God for that.

OSV (Our Sunday Visitor) has a great list of ways to “stay joyous” during Advent and Christmas. I love it.

My first big idea

is to sneak into work EXTRA early on St. Nicholas Day and put a sock with candy coins in on everyone’s desk.

How cute and fun right! And it’s not going to create a mess or  take a ton of work. But it will be fun, and not that costly. There are only 16 of us in the office. So 8 pairs of socks (I have to give myself one, so it looks like St. Nick came to all of us haha) and so candy coins.

Toooooo excited about this.

My second big idea

is already underway, too.

I have a list of gifts for everyone in the office… mostly really simple things, and I’ve found most of them at Goodwill already. Nothing that looks trashy or cheaply made, though.

So I’m going to come in early (or late, depending) and decorate the office before we leave for Christmas with my miniature tree and everyone’s gift wrapped.

I am even going to put up lights for this. So that will take some work… and a little bit of extra money.

I can’t believe how excited and happy I am about it, though. It’s just making me absolutely giddy like a little kid planning a surprise.

How are your holiday plans coming?

My family isn’t doing a traditional Thanksgiving meal together this year, our work schedules are just not conducive to that.

We’ll be having appetizers at my mom’s Thursday night, probably. That’s still not for sure.

Thankfully, I am not getting stressed by my lack of concrete plans this year. It’s just not worth the hassle.

I need to remember what it’s really about and be grateful I get to see my family.

Other stuff

I will probably be quitting this blog entirely soon.

Like I’ve said in earlier posts, it’s just not the kind of writing I need to be focusing on right now.

I always dread planning the posts I’m going to write each week… but once I get writing it’s OK.

And, of course, I appreciate the comments and likes and follows I’ve gotten. It’s so nice to know there are other people who relate and understand.

I’m sure I’ll be back on the Internet at some point in the future, but this “experiment” just isn’t at the right point in my life.

This girl has stories to write, novels to dream about and photos to take.

Oh, and prayers to pray!

But, for now, I’ll be around. Probably until December starts.

 

God bless.

Leave a Reply

