Real nourishment

In Sacred Scripture, the Church constantly finds her nourishment and her strength, for she welcomes it not as a human word, “but as what it really is, the word of God”. “In the sacred books, the Father who is in heaven comes lovingly to meet his children, and talks with them.” CCC 104

 

Beauty

Today is absolutely beautiful. No jacket. No scarf.

I wore a skirt. Is it May or October? Honestly.

I’m not going to complain. I usually try not to complain about the weather, regardless of how it is. We can’t change it, so why complain about it. It accomplishes nothing.

I’d like to tell you that I spent all day outside: walking on crunchy leaves, thinking about flowers and clouds.

Nope. Instead. Reading student achievement report cards from the Department of Public Instruction.

This is my life. 🙂

I still haven’t finished the daily email of the Catechism. It’s day 15 in the Year of Faith. I have only missed one day… I think it was Sunday, and I read it on Monday along with Monday’s post. I’m doing well not not just delete them. They stay in my inbox until it’s read.

(I’m part of the inbox zero crowd, and it’s infuriating to have an email in my inbox.)

Sometimes, you just need a day of working.

Or talking about hippopotamuses like we did at work today. Don’t ask, though it’s kind of funny.

 

Wonder of wonders

I’ve been thinking about poverty lately.

When writing about these schools, I realized that one of the schools has more than 50 percent of its student population at or below the poverty level.

50 percent. Imagine that.

I don’t notice it as I drive thought the community, but it’s obviously there.

Even with this poverty level, the school’s “grade” is 68 out of 100 points (based on student achievement, attendance rates, reading growth, etc.).

I wonder if kids think about education as a way out of poverty.

I don’t think I ever thought about it. My parents were not in the best financial shape. I knew that I had to go to school, and I knew that I wanted to go to college (and that I’d have to pay my own way).

But I don’t know if I connected it all. But it worked.

A lot of prayer, a lot of cramming, a little bad nutrition, a big celebration.

It’s worth the hard work to get ahead. But when you’re a kid, you’re kind of stuck.

I hope they don’t know it. I hope they feel like every other kid.

 

God bless.

Leave a Reply

