On Chesterton

As part of my

Year of Faith goals, I said I wanted to read at least six books on Church history. I’m going to adjust my goals to allow for books like “Orthodoxy” by G.K. Chesterton.

I read chapter 1 last night.

I had the feeling of familiarity wash over me. I’m pretty sure I’ve tried to read it before.

This time it’s going to work, though.

I also rented (what do you call getting books from the library?) Scott Hahn’s “A Father who Keeps His Promises” and Philip Jenkin’s “The New Anti-Catholicism.”

I plan on spending about 95 percent of my weekend reading and drinking coffee.

The other 5 percent is for taking photos… which I haven’t done in too long.

I hope to use maybe a half of percent on posting here. 😉

Memorial of Saint John de Brébeuf and Saint Isaac Jogues, priests and martyrs, and their companions, martyrs

Our priest told us that thoughts do matter.

In fact, we say, Forgive us, for we have sinned in OUR THOUGHTS and our words…

Our thoughts impact our actions and our words… and especially our reactions. If you’re already thinking something angry or upset, it’s that much easier to share that emotion.

And really, shouldn’t we be sharing our happiness?

We don’t have a feast day or memorial until All Saints Day! I can’t believe that! It should just give me more time to go to Adoration/Benediction and confession:

But the answer to the question “what is wrong with the world?” proved was not external factors like “politics, the economy, secularism, pollution or global warming,” he noted.

“No, as G.K. Chesterton wrote, the answer to the question what is wrong with the world is two words: ‘I am.’”

Cardinal Dolan stated in his remarks to his 250 fellow bishops that paving the way for a personal “conversion of heart and repentance,” which is the “core of the Gospel invitation,” requires a recognition of personal sin.

“This happens in the sacrament of penance. This is the sacrament of the New Evangelization,” he said to warm applause from the assembled Synod Fathers, experts and observers.

Timothy Cardinal Dolan

God bless.

Leave a Reply

