Creation

From Creator to Father – Elohim to Yahweh

This is the second section of the Agape Bible Study on Salvation History, but it’s the first section that actually involves reading whole chunks of the Bible.

It covers Genesis 1 through the first part of chapter 11. I’m only part way through it, on a never ending struggle to balance the things I want to do with the things I need to do.

 

There are some great points I’d like to share, though, that made me think.

First, there’s a list of items that the Catholic Church teaches on creation. The eight points (from Pius X’s Pascendi Dominici Gregis) include nothing about how, physically “it” all happened. Yes, God designed and implemented it all, but we don’t have a specific period of time when it happened or how long it took to build. We don’t have to believe that it took seven days or that Adam was really his name.

It’s enlightening.

Yet, there are core beliefs, fundamentals for us. You should check out the Pascendi for that. Or… read the study.

 

More thought provoking for me was the way the world was created.

Breaking down the text, we see that there are three “realms” created: time, space and land.

Then, God fills these realms with rulers: sun/moon/etc., fish/birds, beasts/man.

This is known as the “Framework Interpretation.”

It’s just a theory, but it’s an interesting way to look at it, and it’s a way to wrap our minds around what happened.

I find that it’s really hard for me to visualize “complete nothingness” before God created everything. When I close my eyes and think, I see my empty kitchen sink (so rare), the vacuumed floor (not as rare) or even my windshield after the wipers push away the rain.

But I can’t see… nothing.

Sometimes, I see it was a vast, white expanse. Other times, I see a blank landscape of flatness. It’s strange how both of these colors can represent nothing.

White as a clean, pure, purposeful “nothing,” and black as that empty feeling. At least to me. And those are concrete feelings about the colors either.

Anyway, I’m rambling now, but this study is so helpful to me.

Yes, like I’ve said before, there is much discussion about the text, but maybe that’s the best for me. I’m so used to those “fluffly, how does it make you feel” Bible studies that I need something more analytical right now.

I don’t mean to push it on anyone, either, but if you’re searching for something, maybe Agape is the place to go. But find something.

 

Confession

I’m off to fulfill one of my goals already by going to another Parish today, and I’m going to Confession before hand.

I haven’t been in probably 5 months, so it’s time to get back in the habit again of doing that. It’s hard to do, but the joy and ease afterward is so worth it.

God Bless.

Leave a Reply

