Home, away from home

Mass in another Parish…  and diocese.

Let me start from the beginning. I was born in one diocese. OK, maybe that’s too far back.

I was baptized in the archdiocese that I currently live in, that I lived in most of my life except for when I was in college.

During (most of) college, I was in the diocese that I was born in. And I was OK with that diocese because I have a very reverent priest at our Newman Center.

For about six months, I lived in that diocese after I graduated. I didn’t like it as much. I have a very… let me just say, liberal priest who I didn’t… have as much respect for as I probably should have.

Then I moved back to my “home” archdiocese and I love it. I think there is better communication between the Bishop and the priests here. That’s just my opinion. I have no real facts to  back that up except that Masses are celebrated in a very similar fashion in different parishes. It’s beautiful.

Anyway, this weekend, I was again out of town into the other diocese. I attended Nativity of Our Lord parish. It’s the one I usually go to when I’m there, and I’m quite familiar with how it works.

I wish I could get past this convenience factor and just find a church I like while I’m there. It doesn’t make sense why I continue to go to a church that doesn’t work for me.

Granted, I know it’s Catholic, and I know that Our Lord is present in the Eucharist, but it just… isn’t… right. Or something. Kind of like how I feel during those Life Teen Masses. It’s just not for me. I like organs, hymn books and a priest who is there for the Lord.

Again, I’m being judgmental. I apologize. It’s hard for me not to be. It’s just nice to know that I can choose which church to do to. That’s not wrong.

I got home late last night

And read three quick chapters of the Agape Bible Study that I’m working on. Then I fell asleep.

Tonight, I’m going to re-read the notes and come up with something concise and intelligent-sounding to tell you.

And as the Year of Faith begins on Oct. 11, I’m going to be trying (even harder) to share my faith and increase my own knowledge of Catholicism.

Let’s do it together.

God Bless, always.

Leave a Reply

