Michaelmas and more

I consider Michaelmas one of “my” feast days.

War broke out in heaven;
Michael and his angels battled against the dragon.
The dragon and its angels fought back,
but they did not prevail
and there was no longer any place for them in heaven.
The huge dragon, the ancient serpent,
who is called the Devil and Satan,
who deceived the whole world,
was thrown down to earth,
and its angels were thrown down with it.

(From USCCB)

It’s one of “mine” because of my military history. I don’t want to get into it too much.

Everyone, right now, every American… we’re all attached to someone, some how who’s served.

Yet, it’s less than what it was during World War II. We don’t “know there’s a war on.”

And St. Michael, he’s the patron saint of the armed services. See, it’s all rolling into place now.

Yes, I know it’s not called Michaelmas anymore, either: Feast of Saint Michael, Saint Gabriel and Saint Raphael, archangels.

And today…

Though your servant is careful of them,
very diligent in keeping them,
Yet who can detect failings?
Cleanse me from my unknown faults!

(From USCCB)

My priest is officially becoming St. Patrick’s pastor tomorrow. How exciting for him and for us!

He’s been a delight for me since I started attending here in July, and I welcome the new authority he will hold over the parish.

In the Bible:

I promised to share my reaction to the Agape Bible Study on Thursday.

It’s definitely more… factual and academic than the InterVarsity study I just finished. It doesn’t have as much feeling and personal reaction behind it.

But there’s something that can be gained from it just the same.

“In the beginning God (Elohim) created heaven and earth. Now the earth was a formless void, there was darkness over the deep, with a divine wind sweeping over the waters. God (Elohim) said, ‘Let there be light, and there was light.’

God, the Father = first person of the Holy Trinity; the divine wind – God the Holy Spirit, the third person of the Holy Trinity; and “God said” = the Word of God, the third person of the Holy Trinity.”

The way the passages are broken down, the way it’s so easy to see the way the New Covenant is already apparent in the Old. It’s so easy and beautiful to see God’s plan already in action.

I highly suggest this study, regardless of one’s academic path. It’s enlightening to me even with my minor in Religious Studies.

Leave a Reply

