Genesis 1:1-2:4

Agape Bible Study begins

I decided to continue with the Agape study instead of “The Story“.

It was a good decision.

I read Genesis 1:1-2:4 last night (which I haven’t read since my Old Testament/Hebrew Bible class when I was a… when I was in college).

It was good. I remembered talking about the four different contributions to the Torah (first five books, the Book of Moses): JEPD.

  • J: Yahwist source
  • E: Elohist source
  • P: Priestly source
  • D: Deuteronomist

You can check out the “Documentary hypothesis” on Wikipedia. It’s insightful.

According to the Agape Bible study (and what I’ve gleaned over the years as well), the Catholic Church is not to hot and bothered about the Documentary hypothesis. I tried to forget this as I was reading. And I’ll try even harder when I get to 2:5.

I just printed the notes and questions for Genesis 1:1-2:4, so I haven’t reviewed and don’t really call last night’s reading “a study” of it. I’ll catch up today with the next chapter and all the notes.

Photos

Because the trees are starting to notice it’s fall.

Cropped, corrected color (levels).

It was absolutely gorgeous yesterday. I took these with my work camera, the Nikon D50.

I love the changing of the seasons. It’s just another time to be grateful for what we’ve been given, what we get to see. It’s so easy to become complacent when we see the same things every day, so season changes help.

I should have gone to Mass today…

Because it’s one of my favorite readings:

Vanity of vanities, says Qoheleth,
vanity of vanities! All things are vanity!
What profit has man from all the labor
which he toils at under the sun?
One generation passes and another comes,
but the world forever stays.

From USCCB

But, St. Patrick’s only has a communion service on Thursday (only!).

Maybe I’ll go to Adoration today. I have some time saved for that.

God Bless.

Remember the unborn today (and every day).

Leave a Reply

