40 Days

It begins today.

(But really the fight is constant.)

I decided to give up buying any coffee/coffee type drink during the observance of 40 Days for Life.

Not because it’s ridiculously expensive either. Because it’s something I like to do a few times a week, and it’s a sacrifice I can make.

Please, add something to or remove something from your daily life in remembrance of those unborn children who have lost their lives because of selfishness or ignorance or despair. I try not to judge. I can’t imagine the pain and fear women go through when they realize they are pregnant.

Here’s a prayer from Priests for Life:

Lord God, I thank you today for the gift of my life,
And for the lives of all my brothers and sisters.
I know there is nothing that destroys more life than abortion,
Yet I rejoice that you have conquered death
by the Resurrection of Your Son.
I am ready to do my part in ending abortion.
Today I commit myself
Never to be silent,
Never to be passive,
Never to be forgetful of the unborn.
I commit myself to be active in the pro-life movement,
And never to stop defending life
Until all my brothers and sisters are protected,
And our nation once again becomes
A nation with liberty and justice
Not just for some, but for all,
Through Christ our Lord. Amen!

(Prayer link here.)

Lake photos

I’m going to post at a different size than the last photo post, hopefully this is easier.

I went down to “the lake” Monday evening. I’ve been working in a city named after the lake since July, yet it’s taken me over two months to go down there. Part of me was avoiding the summer tourists. Another (whole) part of me can’t swim so why bother?

It was beautiful. In fact, I’m already a convert and will be visiting again soon. If not today, this weekend.

The above photo: cropped, corrected color. The water is so crystal clear and clean. It was amazing.

Relaxing for sure.

And this one. Taken at the same time. I love the way the sunlight is just bleaching out all the color in this photo, making it look like an old-processed black and white film.

Beautiful.

Cropped, increased contrast (just a tiny bit), corrected color.

This one. Ahhhh.

Can’t you see yourself here? Come on down to the lake. The water’s fine.

I just cropped this one. I tried to correct the color, but the water kept turning green or purple, which is not correct at all.

It’s a little deceiving, there is a dock immediately to the left of the crop and some boats to the right. But a picture doesn’t have to tell the whole story.

God Bless.

Leave a Reply

