The 1 Rule

In Mass this morning

Our priest asked us what we give back to God.

“God blesses every day. How do we give some of that back to God?” (this is a paraphrase.)

He suggested “The 1 Rule.”

Every week, he said, give 1 hour to prayer, 1 hour to service to others and the first hour of wages to God.

What a great idea! Granted, the first hours of wages is not a 10 percent tithe, but it’s a start he suggested. I love this idea.

The one hour of prayer… the Sunday obligation doesn’t count for that. 🙂

I like the idea of knowing which hours of my work day are going to God. Put a little extra work, extra drive into those hours. Offer it up as a sacrifice.

My favorite verses (from USCCB):

Where do the wars
and where do the conflicts among you come from?
Is it not from your passions
that make war within your members?

In other news (I love saying that):

I found this:

The Story - Randy Frazee

Here’s a link to the Amazon page showing the book.

Anyway, I found the books at my local thrift store. And as I’m almost finished with the InterVarsity Bible study on faith, I thought maybe I’d check it out.

I know I have the Agape Bible study, too. I’m trying to overwhelm myself or something. I don’t know.

Anyway, “The Story,” is most definitely Protestant. (I talked about the lack of Catholic Bible studies already…)

I haven’t really looked into it much. There’s nothing listed by prominent Catholics online about it.

I’ll be glad to be the first to provide a (non-expert) Catholic opinion about the book. It’s supposed to go along with a DVD series. I didn’t find that at the thrift store… mostly because I wasn’t looking because I didn’t know. Hopefully I can get through it with the NIV “The Story” Bible. I have this sinking suspicion that it’s like “The Message,” which I thought completely stripes everything “Biblical” from the Bible.

I go into it with an open mind though. It’s great how different perspectives can lead us to the truth. I hope it’s the case with this.

 

God Bless! Happy Sunday.

Leave a Reply

