Hebrews 12

My current Bible study is nine readings selected on faith.

It’s by InterVarsity Press, and it’s not necessarily geared toward Catholics.

It’s hard to find studies geared toward Catholic unless you’re going through a Catholic book store, anyway.

Thankfully, there is a well stocked Catholic book store in my city. There’s no Starbucks (not the worst thing), but there’s a Catholic book store. Praise God.

I read the seventh selection of the study tonight, and I wanted to share my reaction. Sometimes I think the questions in this guide are not geared toward someone with a serious passion for the Bible. Then sometimes, I think that I’m trying to be “above” answering the questions. They really do cut to the focus when I think about the real meaning or point the question is making.

Hebrews 12:1-11

(I read the whole chapter because I have a personal goal to read three Bible chapters a week, but the study only looks at verses 1 through 11.)

Favorite verse:

7: “Endure trials for the sake of discipline.”

The passage is about “running the race” of life/faith toward our final goal. We have to endure trials (v. 7), hostility (v. 3), the cross (v. 2).

Question from the study:

Why does keeping our eyes on Jesus help us to run with perseverance?

I answered that Christ is our example for this life. He endured all that we endure already. “So that you may not grow weary or lose heart (v. 3b).”

We don’t need to fear the challenges we face in life because Christ endured the same challenges, and he overcame them. that’s our example and that’s our goal: PERSEVERANCE. Continue through it. Keep going.

Keep praying, keep studying, keep talking to God and listening to God. Keep going to Mass.

This is really the ultimate truth that I also come to when I read the Bible. Go to Mass and turn to Christ. Always.

God Bless.

3 comments

    • learningmass

      Thanks so much! I appreciate you stopping by. If you use an RSS feeder, like Google Reader, you can subscribe to my blog and get an update every time I post. I’m working on creating an email list within the upcoming weeks, check back for that. It’ll help you stay in the loop.
      God Bless. 🙂

  1. Pingback: The 1 Rule « Learning Mass

Leave a Reply

