24th Sunday in Ordinary Time

24th Sunday in Ordinary Time

 

I had to go to a Life Teen Mass last night.
It’s one of those times, those things, those… yeah, things that happen.

I prefer Sunday morning early Masses. The ones without the choir and all the old women.

The Life Teen Masses distract me with their guitar players and projection screens.

Because I know this is my weakness, I try to avoid extra distractions. I try to minimize the things I can look at so I can focus on Christ, on the sacrifice of the Mass.

It also just plain irritates me that a whole group of Mass-goers are not learning to read music or figure out a missal.

Using that as my excuse, I’ll admit I don’t remember much about the homily. I know the priest asked a couple times who we thought Jesus was.

It made me think, after I left the church and drove home. Of course, Jesus is my Lord and Savior. That’s a given, the standard answer.

But he’s also my rock, my foundation, my source of strength. Again, that’s a common answer, but it’s honest. Jesus is my starting point, he’s my center.

Even I missed the rest of that message, it’s OK because I got the rest of that from it. That’s maybe the reason he asked the question multiple times: to ingrain it in our memories.

 

Another point of reasoning behind my rejection of these Masses is the lack of obvious reverence. In a traditional (that is, post-1965 and the Vatican II changes for this Millennial) Mass, we kneel or stand whenever the Eucharist is present (out from the Tabernacle). Last night, that was not the case. As soon as the priest and ministers began serving communion, the entire (save one, me) congregation sat down.

WHAT? Really? What makes that OK? I used to live in the diocese where this Mass was, and I hadn’t seen that before. I was flabbergasted, and I continued to kneel. I have no concerns about people who can’t kneel. But the entire group? Not OK.

I wish I could have talked to the priest and asked what that was about.

Hopefully I don’t have to go to that Parish anymore because I just couldn’t handle it.

 

Ever have concerns/distractions/irritations like that at a Mass? Do you avoid it or try to work past it?

God bless! See you at Mass!

jb

3 comments

  1. happyflowerwordzoo002

    Yes it sometimes rattles when Mass celebrated in different ways. Yet the spirit of celebration of the Eucharist is always there as we re-enact such an ancient ritual of thanksgiving. I am currently striving to overcome feeling annoyed at people who talk/chat during Mass. I try to focus my attention more to the cross. Enjoyed my visit to your blog. Peace be with you.

    • learningmass

      I get the same way. The point of us being there is for Christ. We must be an example for others. And even when we’re upset, we must respond the way Christ would, with love and understanding. None of us are perfect, and we show our imperfection is so many ways.
      I’m glad you could relate to my feelings. God Bless.

  2. Pingback: Home, away from home « Learning Mass

Leave a Reply

